Current Books to Review

I have a list of books to review the top two I’m going to show you are the most pressing and I’m trying to get them done in a week as I’m having surgery next week and will be sleeping a lot afterwards. I’m already sleeping quiet a bit now now from medication I’m on so it’s making it hard to get these all done in a timely manner so as I’ve asked the authors I now ask you, please bear with me. So without further ado lets introduce you to the selections.

Out of the shadows

Synopsis: Nobody ever said death would be easy…

From the streets of Melbourne to the bowels of Westminster, the delicate balance between life and death that is so painstakingly maintained by the reapers of The Order of Dark and Light is being tested by the return of an ancient threat. Tensions are rising within the hidden world of The Shadowlands and if this threat is not contained war will be inevitable. And the destruction of the human world is bound to follow in its wake.

Amidst this tension, eighteen year-old Sachi Manning is struggling to cope with the grief and guilt that has plagued her ever since her best friend was murdered six months earlier—that is, until she spots him seemingly alive and well and being held at scythe point by a hooded figure who looks more like a GQ model than the Grim Reaper.

Sachi shouldn’t be able to see through the glamours that shield Shadowlanders from the human world, so the reaper in question wants some answers. And so begins the craziest couple of weeks of Sachi’s life as she is drawn into a world of mysteries, magic, monsters, and mayhem, encountering dragons, faeries, soul-sucking demons, not-so-grim reapers, and even the Horseman of Death.

With a mix of heart, humour and hair-raising action, Out of the Shadows is the adventure of an afterlifetime, perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare and Paula Weston.

This is first and fore most on my list as it was given to me from the author herself through a contact on Twitter called @BookTasters. Normally or only given 4 weeks to read and review a book but I asked her for an extention as for my circumstances and she agreed. When you write your review you post it on Amazon, Goodreads, send it to @BookTasters, and I’m going to obviously post here as well.

Now on to #2 on the list brought to you by the good people at First to Read 

Blackwing

Synopsis:
Set on a post-apocalyptic frontier, Blackwing is a gritty fantasy debut about a man’s desperate battle to survive his own dark destiny…

Hope, reason, humanity: the Misery breaks them all.
 
Under its cracked and wailing sky, the Misery is a vast and blighted expanse, the arcane remnant of a devastating war with the immortals known as the Deep Kings. The war ended nearly a century ago, and the enemy is kept at bay only by the existence of the Engine, a terrible weapon that protects the Misery’s border. Across the corrupted no-man’s-land teeming with twisted magic and malevolent wraiths, the Deep Kings and their armies bide their time. Watching. Waiting.

Bounty hunter Ryhalt Galharrow has breathed Misery dust for twenty bitter years. When he’s ordered to locate a masked noblewoman at a frontier outpost, he finds himself caught in the middle of an attack by the Deep Kings, one that signifies they may no longer fear the Engine. Only a formidable show of power from the very woman he is seeking, Lady Ezabeth Tanza, repels the assault.
 
Ezabeth is a shadow from Galharrow’s grim past, and together they stumble onto a web of conspiracy that threatens to end the fragile peace the Engine has provided. Galharrow is not ready for the truth about the blood he’s spilled or the gods he’s supposed to serve…

I’ve started reading this one right when it became available to me and according to my Goodreads account I’m 6% through the book. I’ve only been asked to post a review on the First to Read site but as my usual I’ll be sharing it here, Goodreads, and my social networking platforms, also thinking of sharing it on Amazon.

Book #3 I received as a freebie straight from the author and she’s not expecting anything in return but I told her I’d churn out a review just as soon as I got back on my feet after surgery and caught up on the two books ahead of hers and she is totally cool with that!

Missing

Synopsis: Victim? Runaway? Or Criminal?
Detective Lyn Kramer is busy training Jud Hughes, a new detective on the force, when Gary Farnsworth shows up to report his wife missing. As the interview progresses, Lyn realizes the missing woman is none other than her own twin sister, Melissa. Lyn and Melissa have not seen each other since their parents died twenty-five years ago, when the girls were split up to live with two sets of warring grandparents. Lyn and Jud find mutual respect and a growing camaraderie as the investigation into Melissa’s disappearance deepens. Tensions reach a peak when the two detectives discover a trail of crimes linked to the missing woman’s family. Will Melissa be found? And if so, will Lyn have it in her to put her twin sister behind bars?

Also this book is currently available free so here’s the link: Ann Jones Books

I also have a #4 that I have to do from First to Read this one I have until September 12th so fingers crossed!

Going Dark

Synopsis: The members of a top secret SEAL Team can’t keep their passion under wraps in this thrilling contemporary romantic suspense series from New York Times bestselling author Monica McCarty.

Like Rome’s Lost Legion, a SEAL platoon goes on a mission and vanishes without a trace.

After walking into a trap on a covert op in Russia, the men from top secret SEAL Team Nine are presumed dead. Not knowing whom they can trust, and with war hanging in the balance, the survivors must go dark and scatter around the globe.

Marine ecologist Annie Henderson joins her new boyfriend on a trip to the Western Isles of Scotland to protest a hazardous offshore drilling venture. When she realizes that she may be swept up in something far more dangerous than she’d intended, there is only one man she can turn to. . . .

She and the mysterious but sexy dive boat captain haven’t exactly gotten off to the best start, but something about his quiet confidence makes her think that he’s the kind of man she can depend on. Because he’s gruff and guarded, she can tell Dan Warren has secrets. But she could never imagine how high the stakes are for him to keep his cover, even as he risks everything to protect her. . . .  

I’m really looking forward to reading this one because it looks like it’s going to combine the suspense/action I’ve been craving lately with some sex and who doesn’t like a dash of sex in some of their books? Am I right ladies?

Anyways those are my books currently to review and I’m hoping to get them all done really soon but it depends on my health and I’m sorry if that’s an inconvenience to you. As for right now I’m going to go start reading! Happy Monday everyone!

~Steph

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s