Before We Were Yours by Lisa Wingate

This story of a very crooked Tennessee Children’s Home Society needs to come with a warning of some kind. I’m enjoying the story but I feel you should be warned something terrible happens at one point and even though it’s not exactly described you get the jest. I’ve never heard of Lisa Wingate until I saw this book on First To Read and the description drew me in. I’m glad and honored to be able to review as I’m loving this free flowing writing style. The balance of all the main players is wonderful and fast paced makes you want to stay up and read.

First you have Avery Stafford a young woman who is strong in her career but has come home to take care of her dad a very prominent senator fighting cancer and she might possibly be stepping up into his shoes. Then you have May Weathers a frail (or so it seems) old woman in a nursing home. Their paths meet one day in a nursing home where the senator and his daughter are helping celebrate a birthday and putting on a strong front to investigate some issues. May runs into Avery swiping a family heirloom in a bracelet from her grandmother Judy. As they get to know each other Avery uncovers the shocking past that connects May and grandma Judy. Will this scandal come to light and how will it effect all involved.?

I greatly encourage you to read this wonderfully written, heart-wrenching tale but be warned there may be some upsetting innuendos.

Title: Before We Were Yours

Author: Lisa Wingate

ISBN: 9780425284698

Synopsis: Here’s what Goodreads has to say about it: Two families, generations apart, are forever changed by a heartbreaking injustice in this poignant novel, inspired by a true story, for readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale.

Memphis, 1939. Twelve-year-old Rill Foss and her four younger siblings live a magical life aboard their family’s Mississippi River shantyboat. But when their father must rush their mother to the hospital one stormy night, Rill is left in charge—until strangers arrive in force. Wrenched from all that is familiar and thrown into a Tennessee Children’s Home Society orphanage, the Foss children are assured that they will soon be returned to their parents—but they quickly realize that the truth is much darker. At the mercy of the facility’s cruel director, Rill fights to keep her sisters and brother together—in a world of danger and uncertainty.

Aiken, South Carolina, present day. Born into wealth and privilege, Avery Stafford seems to have it all: a successful career as a federal prosecutor, a handsome fiancé, and a lavish wedding on the horizon. But when Avery returns home to help her father weather a health crisis, a chance encounter leaves her with uncomfortable questions—and compels her to take a journey through her family’s long-hidden history, on a path that will ultimately lead either to devastation . . . or redemption.

Based on one of America’s most notorious real-life scandals—in which Georgia Tann, director of a Memphis-based adoption organization, kidnapped and sold poor children to wealthy families all over the country—Wingate’s riveting, wrenching, and ultimately uplifting tale reminds us how, even though the paths we take can lead to many places, the heart never forgets where we belong.

Publisher: New York: Ballantine Books, Penguin Random House

Date: January 6th 2017

Rating: 5/5 Stars

~Steph

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s